Top 5 Wednesday | Book Trends You’re Tired Of

What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

  • Love Triangles!! Right there at the start, I am so sick and tired of almost every YA novel I read featuring a love triangle. Maybe if authors could at least change the formula up a bit every once in a while I wouldn’t hate them so much. They’re very rarely done well. Girl meets two guys, has an existential crisis over who she’s going to choose and then picks the one you knew from page one that she was going to go with in the first place. That isn’t to say it can’t be done well though. The love triangle in The Infernal Devises I thought was done really good.
  • Love at first sight. This is another one that mostly YA novels are guilty of but I’ve read it in a few different genres and reading levels. I get that teenagers and young adults are supposed to be “filled with raging hormones”, but that doesn’t mean that they all fall head over heals with the first thing that they see. In the real world, most of our relationships build and evolve over time. I’d like to see more of that in what I’m reading.
  • Main female character, falling madly in love with main male character after he saves her. This sort of goes along with the above one but it drives me into such a rage when I see it that I just had to include it separately. This is a trope that I see far more in fantasy than anywhere else. It drives me up a wall and even my favorite authors are guilty of this one. Women don’t have to be rescued by dashing knights all the damn time and they most certainly don’t need to sleep with them when they do.
  • The trilogy. Does every story have to come in three books now? Is that a new rule? Multiple volume stories are nice and all but they most certainly are not a requirement. No many times I’ll fall in love with a book and be all excited for the next one only to read and feel that the story has lost its steam. Many times the story feels as though it’s just dragging on for the sake of the word count. So much could just be left behind to make for the faster paced, more crisp story. I love subplots as much as the next girl but sometimes you need to know when to quit.(looks pointedly at GRRM.)
  • The Chosen One! That’s right, I’m looking at you Harry Potter. This is a trope that I’ve been reading since I first started reading. Only one character, usually as told by prophesy, is the one who can beat the bad guy and bring the world peace. Why? Why does this still have to be a thing? I haven’t read as many of these lately but they still annoy the crap out of me when I find them.

These are just the ones that came to mind the fastest. The list most certainly could go on forever. There’s a lot of books that I’ve read that use most of these to good effect though, so they’re not all bad. (I’m sorry Harry Potter, I’ll never speak ill of you again.)

What are some of the trends you’re tired of seeing in books?

Top 5 Wednesday group can found here on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

