Down The TBR Hole weeks #3 & #4

I know I say I’m bad at this all the time, but I am really bad at this. The Christmas week was crazy for this momma and last week the little one was sick so it was extra hard trying to find the time to sit down and write this post. So I’m just going to ahead and do two weeks together.

For those who don’t know, this is a weekly meme hosted by Lia over at Lost In A Story.

 Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
    Order on ascending date added.
    Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
    Read the synopses of the books
    Decide: keep it or should it go?

So without further ado, here they are:

the-princess-bride

The Princess Bride | by: William Goldman

I’m actually really mad at myself for still never having read this. I loved the movie (are any of you noticing a pattern here cause I know I am.)

Judgement: Keep

1984

1984 | by: George Orwell

This is another one that I’ve wanted to read forever. A few years ago I started to really get into dystopia novels as well so that of course made my interest in reading this book increase probably ten fold. I’ll have to read it eventually.

Judgement: Keep

Since this post has ten books I’m going to go and put the rest of them under a cut this time.

fahrenheit-451Fahrenheit 451 | by: Ray Bradbury

Another dystopia novel that’s been on my TBR list fo far too long. I got a copy of this out if a donation box not to long ago so I should probably finally read this soon.

Judgement: Keep

dune

Dune | by: Frank Herbet

This is a tough one. On the one hand, this is a book that has been recommended to me by many people, including my dad. But on the other hand it seems like it’s a book that will take me a while to read, maybe even boring. I think I’ve seen either a movie or a TV show based on it but I don’t remember that well and i know as well as anyone that that’s no way to judge a book.

Judgement: Keep, for now. My dad is usually good at knowing what I‘ll like

stranger-in-a-strange-land

Stranger In A Strange Land | by: Robert A. Heinlein

Not sure where I found this one since I don’t think it’s a book that was ever recommended to me. The summary sounds interesting enough but I think it’s the sort of book that’s really just going to sit on my TBR list forever. Maybe someday if I ever come across it in the used book store or a free book bin somewhere.

Judgement: Go

dragons-eg

Dragonne’s Eg | by: Mary Brown

This is an automatic keep. I read the second book in this series, Pig’s Don’t Fly, when I was maybe twelve and it’s the book that I credit for sparking my love of reading and fantasy. This book was the last book that was published for this series before Mary Brown passed away. It’s been on my to read list for so long because I’m terrified that it’s going to end in a cliffhanger that I’ll never be able to get closer for. Still, I love the other books in this series and I do still want to know what happens with Summer and Jasper’s egg so I will read it…someday.

Judgement: Keep forever, even if I never read it.

warriors

Warriors | by: Various Authors

For me, short story collections are usually a hit or miss. I also never read them straight through but in pieces over the course of several weeks or even months. Still this has some authors that I love and so I definitely intent to read it someday. Or at least most of it.

Judgement: Keep

steampunk-2

Steampunk II: Steampunk Reloaded | by: Various Authors

Another short story collection. I read the first collection in this series and really enjoyed it. I’ve had a copy of this book for a while now too and I’ve actually read a couple of stories from it already. I’ll have to bunker down and finish the rest of it.

Judgement: Keep and finish reading.

interview-with-a-vampire

Interview With The Vampire | by: Anne Rice

I’ve read a couple of Anne’s book and I have to admit that I wasn’t a huge fan. I think this was on my list just so I could tell all of my friends telling me to read that it was on my TBR list and that’s it. Will probably never get to this one.

Judgement: Go

inheriitance

Inheritance | by: Christopher Paolini

I bought this book shortly after it was released. It was the first book I bought for my kindle. I only read maybe a third of it and then I put it down. I’m not sure why but I’m sure it was because I didn’t think that it was all that good. Still, I really like the first two books and even thought the third was sort of a drag I still want to know how this series ends.

Judgement: Keep and finally finish the thing.

Wow that was a lot of work. I’m still a week behind so I’ll either post another in a few days or do another double next Friday. Until then, happy reading.

Leave a Reply

