Top 5 Wednesday | 2017 Goals

So I suppose I already did this with my resolution post the other day but I did say that I wanted to post more so here it is.

For those who haven’t heard of it, Top 5 Wednesdays is a weekly meme. Topics for this weekly meme can be found here on Goodreads and was something that I enjoyed taking part in a while ago and thought it would be fun to do again.

So here we go. My top 5 bookish goals for the New Year.

  1. I’ll start off with the easy one and reiterate my goal of trying to read at least 24 books by the end of the year. Easy.
  2. Visit the library more and get a library card. I love libraries, always have but I also really liked owning all of my books that I read. I don’t know why, I’ve always been that way. Coupled with my slow reading I never liked the idea that I had a time limit to read said books. So I don’t go to the Library all that often. My town’s library is amazing. It has a wonderful children’s section that I’ve brought my Daughter to a couple of times and I know that they do all sort of activities for the little one on a regular basis. I also know that their funding has been cut quite a bit over the last few years and so I’d like to start going again and show them my support in any small way that I can.
  3. Visit the used book store down town more often. Now a days, most of my book purchases are done online from Book Depository or Amazon. Not 10 minutes away from me is a tiny used book store and the lady who runs is the nicest person you will ever meet. There’s another one in the next town over and the last time I visited that one, Annie recognized my grandmother and me even thought we hadn’t been there in years. Both stores have no problem ordering books and even give discounts to those who trade in some gently used books. I need to visit these places more often.
  4. Read more diverse books. I look at the books on my shelf and I’m surprised at how many of them were written by men. Straight white men to be exact and most of the main characters of these books reflect that. I’d like to try to get some more diversity into my reading. This includes the reading I do with my daughter.
  5. Oh this is harder than I thought. Oh I know. Organize my shelves and donate more books. I’m never any good at figuring out what to do with the books I decide not to keep. I’ve brought them to the library, donated them to thrift stores before and even traded them in to the used book store a few times. But the books in my to-go pile just usually end up sitting there for so long. I actually have been thinking about bringing most of my to-go books into work so that the patients can read them. A lot of them are always commenting on how much I read when I’m there and many seem genuinely interested in what I’ve been reading. I know a lot of them would like to read them themselves. It would keep my shelf more organized and make more room for my daughter’s ever growing collection of picture books.

What are some of you’re goals for this year?

Leave a Reply

