2017 New Years Resolutions

I had something really personal and heartfelt to start this post off with but I’ve been sitting here trying to write it for hours and I just can’t write it. Not yet, and maybe not ever. So I’m just going to jump into it.

I’m not usually a new years resolution type of person. I’m not good at sticking with stuff and so I’ve thought they were useless. Given how hard this past year was though I thought it would be good to try to get into some better habits. So here we go:

  • Read more books. Right there on the top of the list. According to Goodreads, I only read 12 books during the year of 2016. I’m pretty sure I read one or two more than that but I didn’t log them in and now for the life of me I can’t remember what they were so I’m just going to go ahead and agree with Goodreads on this one. I’d like to double that if I can and read 24 book by this time next year.
  • A second part to the read more books resolution is to read more books with my daughter. This won’t be that difficult since she usually brings me at least three books to read to her between the time she wakes up in the morning and the time I put her down for her daily nap before I leave for work. Still, it’s a good thing to continue to encourage.
  • Write everyday. Even if it’s just a 100 word journal entry. This is a habit that I’ve been trying to get into for a while but it never works out for all sorts of reasons that are really just useless excuses. I’ll try to do better with it this year.
  • Make more time for myself…without giving up anymore of my sleep. Before I became a mother, my shower was my shower and the time I put aside for reading and video games was my “me time.” The universe at large, and this includes most of my family, seems to think that once you have children, trips to the bathroom alone should be cherished (which they are of course) but that is the most you are expected to get and you are expected to be grateful for it. Pardon me for saying so but that’s complete bullshit. This year I’m going to make more of an effort to make more time for me.
  • Spend more time with my husband. Also without giving up anymore of our precious few hours of sleep. I’m sure it goes without saying but having a child is a hard blow to any marriage. On top of that, my husband recently started a new job that came with a slightly later shift and so the bit of time we had during the switch off between our jobs is gone. We can go half a week without having a full conversation face to face. I have no idea where all of this time is going to come from but I’m determined to find it.
  • Post more content to my blog(s). I’ll be the first to say it, I’m bad at this. Luckily this can be included in with my write everyday resolutions. Surely I can get a post typed up every once in a while, right?
  • Stick to my low-fat diet. I’ve been doing okay with it so far and I haven’t had a gallbladder attack in a little over a month. That’s progress I suppose.
  • And last but definitely not least, don’t take life, or the people who are in it, for granted. Most days I still feel like I’m reeling from the loss of my grandfather. It will be a year since the last time I saw him. I’m told that his death was slow and as comfortable as the doctors could make it but that doesn’t actually do anything to make me feel better. I have a hundred excuses of why I couldn’t be there but not one of them is really good enough. I still feel my reasons for cutting him out of my life were sound, but that too still doesn’t do much to ease this guilt I’ve been feeling. I love you Opa, I’m sorry that you couldn’t agree with my life choices but I still love you.

So there we go. New year, new me and all of that. Or maybe it’s a bit more of trying to reconnect with the old me. I don’t know. Here’s hoping that 2017 will be a better year.

Leave a Reply

