NaNoWriMo is going better than I thought it would

It’s sort of funny that I can say that even though I ended yesterday at a little over 800 words behind but for me that’s not really that bad. Going into the second week is usually about the time when I’m certain I’m going to bomb but I’ve been keeping up.

photo-1429051781835-9f2c0a9df6e4

For those who are uninitiated, NaNoWriMo, short for National Novel Writing Month, is when, during the month of November, millions of people join together in their attempts to write a 50,000 word novel.

1667 words a day is hard for me but most of the time it’s pretty fun. The idea is to start on November first with a brand new original project, but really it can be used to get you motivated to work on any sort of writing project. This year I’m doing short stories, both original and fanfiction.

The last three NaNo’s have been a challenge for me. Last year was my first while being a new mom and I didn’t even break 10k words but I learned a lot about time management. The year before that I was pregnant and let me tell you, pregnancy brain is no joke. It kept me from being able to focus on ANYTHING.

This is my tenth year participating in this crazy venture and I’m determined to see it through. 50,00 words here I come!!!

Leave a Reply

